Friday, March 02, 2007

Maisie Dobbs . . . the rest of the story

I've just finished the last book currently available in Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs series. I reviewed the first book in the series, but I decided to lump all of the subsequent books into one.

Just as in the first book, Maisie is thoughtful and insightful, alert and astute throughout. We were given her history in the first book, and it seems as if she is comfortable with where she has come from and what she has become. As we read further, we learn that Maisie hasn't quite come to terms with how life brought her to become Maisie Dobbs, psychologist and investigator.

So far, all of Maisie's mysteries have come as a result of repercussions of World War I, and each has allowed her to delve further into who she is and how she came to be. I found that I was fascinated with the details surrounding The Great War. I studied it in school, of course, but there were many times that I had to jot down something to look up later.

In general, I do not recommend series as a whole, simply because I am usually disappointed with the later books. However, the Maisie Dobbs series is a welcome change to that trend. I have thoroughly enjoyed them all. As with any series, I do suggest that they be read in order. The books in the Maisie Dobbs series are as follows (in chronological order):

Maisie Dobbs
Birds of a Feather
Pardonable Lies
Messenger of Truth

Very highly recommended.

No comments: